Senior of the Year Award

The Senior of the Year Award is presented to a New Tecumseth senior resident (aged 65-plus) who has contributed service of significant impact to one or more of:

  • The arts
  • Literature
  • Community service
  • Voluntarism
  • Education
  • Fitness and sport
  • Humanitarian activities

Learn more about the Ontario Senior of the Year Award.

Submitting a nomination

You can complete the Senior of the Year Nomination Form online, or pick up a copy at the Administration Centre.

You can submit your nomination in-person at the Administration Centre in Alliston or mail it to:

Town of New Tecumseth
Clerk/Director of Administration Services
10 Wellington St. E.
Alliston, ON L9R 1A1

For more information, you can call the Clerks Department or Administration Services at 705-435-3900 or email Administration Services.


The deadline to submit your nomination is at 4:30 p.m. on Friday March 13, 2020.

Posthumous nominations

You can make posthumous nominations. In such instances, the family of the nominee must (where possible) consent to the nomination.

Approval process

After you submit your nomination, the Clerk's office forwards the nomination to Council. Council then selects the inductees for that year.

We will contact both the inductee and the submission's author with next steps for the awards celebration that year.

Awards presentation

Awards are presented at our annual Canada Day celebration.

Previous Senior of the Year Award winners

  • 2019 - Sharron Smith
  • 2018 – Liz Brown
  • 2017 – Lyn Smith
  • 2016 – Paul Facciol
  • 2015 – Hart Holmstrom
  • 2014 – Harvey Hart
  • 2013 – Russel Renshaw
  • 2012 – N. Leslie Cook
  • 2011 – Joyce Cave
  • 2010 – Helen Williamson
  • 2009 – Joan Jebb
  • 2008 – Douglas Horsburgh, Ann Simister, Betty Beaven, Jacqueline Baillie
  • 2007 – Alice Forstell